AnnaK152

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Hello everyone,

I am extremely new to worrying about blood sugar and insulin. Recently, due to other symptoms, I got a PCOS check advanced from Medichecks that also had insulin and blood sugar tests included. I am very confused by my results and the doctor's comments were not very helpful. I eat a very healthy (vegan) diet with fats and protein and lots of vegetables, although suffered from an eating disorder in the past, which may have affected my health.

My fasting blood glucose was 4.94 mmol/L.
HBA1C - 29.2 mmol/mol
INSULIN -6.83 mIU/L
F INSULIN RESISTANCE INDEX- 1.35

The doctor said
"You have an increased fasting insulin resistance index. This could be an early indication that your body is beginning to struggle to metabolise glucose (sugar) correctly. We advise you to reduce your consumption of sugar and refined carbohydrates (e.g. white bread, pasta rice and potatoes) and check your HbA1c result in 3 months. HbA1c provides a more direct assessment of the control of your blood glucose over the previous 3 months, and is used in the diagnosis of diabetes and pre-diabetes."

I am very worried as I already eat a healthy diet with little to no refined carbs at all and always eat fat with every meal to balance blood sugar. Has anyone had a similar experience and is my insulin resistance index normal?
I was also tested for HBA1C last year and I had 30.2. I am only 21 and have excellent cholesterol and other things seem to be normal. Does anyone have any advice? I would really appreciate it :)

Circuspony

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I've just looked this up because I've never heard of the test. Apparently under 1 means insulin sensitive but early stages of insulin resistance start at 1.9. So with 1.35 you're below that - and your hba1c is great.

Let's see if anyone else has experience with this test

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type