Is the Mediterranean Diet effective in managing Type 2 Diabetes?

• Yes, it can reverse Diabetes

Votes: 3 21.4%
  • Yes, it can manage Type 2 Diabetes

Votes: 6 42.9%
  • Yes, when medication is also taken

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 5 35.7%

• Total voters

april29

Hi all,
I'm an A level student currently writing up a dissertation for an Extended Project Qualification which investigates the role of diet in management of Type 2 Diabetes. It would be really useful to gather some primary research to include in my project so I was wondering if anyone could spare a moment of your time to offer your personal opinion/experience of a Mediterranean Diet in the treatment of Type 2 Diabetes.

To clarify, I class the Mediterranean Diet to incorporate the healthy eating habits of countries bordering the Mediterranean Sea, making up a low-carb diet which is largely based on olive oil (healthy fats), fruits and vegetables (high in fibre), nuts, beans, cereal grains and fish.

It would be extremely valuable to read your personal views, if possible answering any of the following questions:
- How effective do you believe the Mediterranean Diet is in treating Type 2 Diabetes and why?
- What are (if any) advantages/positive effects of the Mediterranean Diet?
- What are (if any) the disadvantages/side effects of the Mediterranean Diet?
- How easy/difficult is it to make a lifestyle change to the Mediterranean Diet?
- Can the Mediterranean Diet be used alone to treat Type 2 Diabetes or alongside medication?

- Any other personal experience/opinion or relevant information on the Mediterranean Diet would be much appreciated!

All responses will remain anonymous, unless you specifically state your forum user name may be used in my dissertation. Do not post any personal details on this thread..

Thanks so much for your time,
April :)

Last edited:

Brunneria

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only