What to eat to stop a hypo in its tracks?

Kaz261

Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
Diet only
My levels appear to be on the slightly higher side for the past couple of days and I'm super sensitive to carbs. So much so that two hours after dinner tonight I was 7.8 and beginning to feel the inevitable hypo coming on.

I'm still learning and am never quite sure what is best to eat at this point? I don't want to overdo carbs and send myself right back up again but need to stop the fast drop (I went from 7.8 to 6.9 in just 10 mins).

Any suggestions welcome. Incidentally, I had a very small satsuma and small spoon of peanut butter (no added sugar variety).

Lamont D

Oracle
Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
If you can find something like a piece of low carb ish food about 9 or 10 gms of carbs and it work fast enough to get you going up at a decent rate and its trial and error, because as you say, you don't want hyper again!
I found that a plain biscuit, rich tea, not digestive! Helps me recover!
Mind you last hypo for me was in February!
If you add something full fat it helps slow the climb up!

Do not use glucose tablets!
Do not drink lucozade, coke or high carb food!
Do not have sugar or bread.

I personally wouldn't have had any carbs till I did hypo, 6.8 is nowhere near a hypo and all you are doing is topping up your levels with more carbs and glucose.

What did you have to eat to be that high?
Clearly something you shouldn't have ate, and not eaten again!

I know you are experimenting and your body is getting used to being low carb. But you must still restrict your food to upset you as little as possible and do your experimenting with care and only if you have been in normal range for a few hours!

Last edited by a moderator:

Lamont D

Oracle
Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Have just read your post on burns thread! @Kaz261 .