Type 1's - I need your thoughts!

gab_07

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi all,

I've had type 1 for nearly 9 years now, and I'm coming up 21 years old :)

I am currently in my final year at University in Nottingham, studying Graphic Design. It's coming up to the point where I embark on my final project of uni, ever! We are allowed to write our own briefs/projects to complete, and I thought what better subject to do mine on than diabetes!

Since it's such a huge topic, I need as much input as I can from you guys to narrow it down. Is there anything you wish you could have to do with your diabetes that isn't available? A campaign, a resource, raised awareness? Do you want more people to understand the differences between type 1 and 2? Do you wish there was more/a different form of support? Is there anything you wish existed when you were diagnosed? Carb count help? Complications help? etc etc.

Basically I just need a problem to answer and invent/design something for. In my work I'm incredibly motivated by helping people and doing things for good :)

I appreciate any feedback, thoughts and suggestions no matter how crazy they are, the more the better. and you never know, I could succeed and whatever I produce could end up being a real thing.

Thanks so much guys,

Gabrielle xxx

Reactions: 2 people

TorqPenderloin

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I think it would be interesting to somehow graph/compare all available data about the various treatment approaches and somehow correlate it to a1c levels.

Obviously, that would be an incredible complicated thing to do, but companies like Medtronic and IBM are starting to work on it.

To elaborate about what I'm suggesting, it would be cool to somehow compare things like:
insulin regimen (mdi or pump)
frequency of testing (5x per day, 10x per day,etc)
diet (low carb, high carb, vegan, etc)
exercise