BlaiseS

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi!
Four weeks ago I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes after being rushed to hospital experiencing laboured breathing... turned out to be DKA. There is no diabetes in my family at all, so this has come as a massive shock, I barely even knew what diabetes was before.
The main reason I've signed up to the forum is because I was told by nurses and doctors that I would recieve a lot of support from them... which for some reason has ended after just 3 weeks and I now only see them every 4 months apparently. So hopefully I can make some friends here and not feel so awful.

So introductions!
My name is Blaise and I am 21 years old. I live in Coventry but I'm a student in Leicester, I was meant to graduate this year. Unfortunately, due to this whole experience, I have had to ask to resit my third year... although I only had 1 month of it to go. I like to go out with friends for long drives and I hate mushrooms.

So yeah... Bye!

AndBreathe

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi!
Four weeks ago I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes after being rushed to hospital experiencing laboured breathing... turned out to be DKA. There is no diabetes in my family at all, so this has come as a massive shock, I barely even knew what diabetes was before.
The main reason I've signed up to the forum is because I was told by nurses and doctors that I would recieve a lot of support from them... which for some reason has ended after just 3 weeks and I now only see them every 4 months apparently. So hopefully I can make some friends here and not feel so awful.

So introductions!