Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
How potato got less sugar than sweet potato

miahara

Type of diabetes
Type 3c
Treatment type
Insulin
Sweet potato has 27.9gm carbs/100gm and 14.5gm sugar.
Boiled potato (old not new one) has 18.0gm carbs and 0.7gm sugar.

So sweet potato is very much higher in sugar. Both will tend to push up blood glucose levels.

Last edited:
Reactions: billiz

DM500

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Is sweet potato on the naughty list ? I thought it was better to eat than potato ( I'm new to this )

Reactions: kimrooney89
A

Avocado Sevenfold

Is sweet potato on the naughty list ? I thought it was better to eat than potato ( I'm new to this )
Best to try it and test as you might be lucky.

We don't buy sweet potatoes as they make my daughter's mouth itchy, so I haven't tested them myself.

DM500

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Wow. Who knew. I can't risk anything at present that may raise bs/bg as my job at risk. I will start experimenting next month but learning loads already. Thanks

A

Avocado Sevenfold

Wow. Who knew. I can't risk anything at present that may raise bs/bg as my job at risk. I will start experimenting next month but learning loads already. Thanks
I hope it works out for you ok workwise.

If you like mash, you might want to try mashing cauliflower or celeriac or even turnip when you are ready. Good luck.

DM500

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Mash Cauliflower sounds yum. Will try that

miahara

Type of diabetes
Type 3c
Treatment type
Insulin
Sweet potato generally has a lower GI especially if boiled. I can eat sweet potatoes but not potatoes so if you want to see which one your body tolerates better you will need to test