holland and barrett

col101

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
No law restricting diabetic chocolate at the moment. Boots did withdraw their range but it is back and re-formulated. There is an article on this site's (DCUK) home page about chocolate in general. Also on DUK site. A long time ago some sweetners got banned, but now only one (cyclamates) remains banned, and that is only by the FDA, so not in UK.
Here's a useful review of the research.
http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/27/11/2741
Not surprisingly the conclusion is vague. For my money we are all individuals so why not try these things and judge for ourselves? Caveats as ever are go at it cautiously and test frequently and if it doesn't work then move on, of it does work then life becomes a little bit easier :)
I'm new to diabetes, two months Type 1. Reading this forum I was interested to find out what Chromium does and if it is safe, interestingly I found a statement on Phentermine.com stating, 'If you are diabetic, do not supplement with chromium....'. As I said, I'm new and need to do more reading, the jist I get is people are using it to curb craving and stop BG spikes. Would be interested in users opinion.

Kyambala

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm new to diabetes, two months Type 1. Reading this forum I was interested to find out what Chromium does and if it is safe, interestingly I found a statement on Phentermine.com stating, 'If you are diabetic, do not supplement with chromium....'. As I said, I'm new and need to do more reading, the jist I get is people are using it to curb craving and stop BG spikes. Would be interested in users opinion.

Hello SBB and welcome to the Forum. Ask all the questions you want and there is sure to be someone who is having, or has had, the same experience you are going through. I am Type 2 so I have very little knowledge about Type 1 (except what I have learned on the Forum). So I will let others answer your questions.

Kyambala