I think i might have hypoglycemia

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Ok this is really weird. I just measured my bs before eating - 6.2 while i'm cooking oopsie bread, and i eat two pieces of cheese wrapped in some ham and lettuce. I started to feel very sweaty and re checked and got 14! That's in the hyper/diabetic spectrum! I measured twice again shortly after and it came down to 8 very quickly.

Anyone know what this might be? Carb withdrawal, given what i've eaten today? Should I go back to carbs for breakfast? I don't know what on earth is happening here. I've been emphatically told, on many occassions, that i am NOT diabetic.

Probably a duff reading, I'd say, if it changed very quickly. The tiniest speck of something on your finger can cause high readings.

I'm not a doctor but my personal opinion, based on what you've said is that yes, you should go back to,eating some (not a huge amount) of carbs for breakfast along with protein and fat - ie a balanced diet.

I undrstand how stressful this all is for you, but taking a step back and approaching it logically will be your best option in my opinion. It sounds like the whole thing is stressing you (understandably) but don't let that stress cloud your judgement.

Logic, systems and moderation is my advice.

ghost_whistler

I washed my hands before i tested, and I only did so because i started to feel very hot and sweaty. I felt quite full after eating, just beforehand.

Unfortuantely the only carbs I have in the house is ryvita/crispbread.

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
@ghost_whistler Nothing wrong with Ryvita unless you've been told to avoid it by a doctor :)

Sorry to keep repeating myself - I do so out of concern and a desire to help, not rudeness. You need to take a step back, decide you're going to do some investigations about what suits you best while you're waiting for your appointments, and then plan out some logical,experiments with meals.