Struggling

T1DM17

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Thank you :), just sick of feeling like my best isn't good enough. I had a hypo at work today, so I ended up running half an hour late (I'm a practice nurse) while I threw some jelly babies back. Haven't had any bother at work for ages so people were asking me if I was alright and what had gone wrong. I'm like, "I'm fine, my BG dropped a bit but I've sorted it out, it happens".

Like I said before, people's attitudes are the most difficult part for me. My brother-in-law's wife told me that I'm always going to have hypos and that puts my child at risk so she questions my ability to be a good mother! You spend ages trying to build yourself up and have confidence that you can have well controlled BG and be a good parent and then someone fairly close knocks you down with their ignorance!

I wish there was a way to make people understand better, but unfortunately, they're not usually that interested to begin with lol

Diakat

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
Your little one looks very happy in the pic. Your SIL is an idiot if she thinks us t1s can't be decent parents. And with luck our kids will be more sympathetic to any future diabetics...

Reactions: T1DM17

T1DM17

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Thank you! :) He's always smiling and I'm sure he thinks I'm doing a good job, and I know that's all that matters. I really hope my Jacob grows up to be more understanding than most when it comes to diabetes, you never know, one day it might be one of our children who gets involved with a long awaited cure! :)

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.