Which Pump?

CarysMia2711

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi I was diagnosed 18 months ago and have recently been offered a pump. I am stuck between the Aviva Insight and the Medtronic 640g. Does anyone have any recommendations or advice or has tried both and have a preference

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: himtoo

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I'll tag @Juicyj as she has the Medtronic :) Of those two pumps, I've only used the Insight. Personally, I hated it with a passion, but there are people here who use it and like it.

So if I had that choice, I'd go for the Medtronic personally :) I've been pumping for 13 years and my current pump is an Animas Vibe (I had a choice of three pumps - the two you've mentioned and the Vibe. I got the Insight originally but had it swapped to the Vibe for the reason above).

I also suggest you write pros and cons for each, read lots of reviews, watch videos on YouTube - and go for what you think is right for you :)

Lorraine1973

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I've just gone onto the medtronic 640g and so far I love it. Was on the omnipod before x

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Quick question. @azure Why didn't you like the insight?

A lot of reasons - it was painfully slow; didnt take proper insulin cartridges (a huge disappointment); had a poor choice of sets and cannulas; needed frequent recharging; has had a number of safety alerts; didn't have a proper manual.... I could go on.

I found it a massive disappointment after my previous pump, and I feel it was rushed out and poorly designed. Just my personal opinion @CarysMia2711

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.