stuffedolive

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Daily Mail, you know the sort
Hi, I'm new to this thread.
I've been diabetic/pre-diabetic for around 15 yrs and just controlled everything with diet & exercise just using my Hba1c to monitor things. I moved to a LCHF diet a few years back when my Hba1c crept up to 48. 42-44 is my normal.
I've now decided to start monitoring using a finger prick BG monitor each morning. I plan to monitor for 10 days, make a dietary change and monitor for another 10 days to see if there is any noticeable effect.
My first 4 days fasting BG after waking were 6.1, 6.1, 6.5, 6.1. The 6.5 was the morning after a 70mile bike ride where I ate much more carbs than usual - museli, 1.5 wholemeal pittas, ham sandwich, 2 cakes, oops.
I could monitor during the day too, but would that help? I think taking the big picture may be the best route for me, hence just looking at my fasting BG. Does this make sense?

PreDiet

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Boo ! up to 7.1 / 7.0 (took it three bloody times aswell) Ate late but it was a tuna / cucumbers snack no high carbs . What is it ? What can I do ? Dr's tomorrow ( but for other stuff ) .

Reactions: Prem51

PreDiet

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
7.8 (after milky coffee + sweetener tho) Pizza last night can't seem to keep up the 'plan'

PreDiet

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
6.8 (after lactulose ) was 5.7 yesterday but didn't post it . Typical!:arghh:

PreDiet

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
5.3 this morning (Victory dance) Had an unusual night , needed Co-codamol at 4am for pain in hip , which I have to eat something before , so had banana and crackers . Took reading at 11.20am (late up) before BP / stomach meds and this is the result!
Also ailing from FLU jab on Sat any connection?

Does it help to have a midnight snack if Pre -diabetic? Or fluke @ anyone?

Last edited:

Juicetin