tp94

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on here...
I've had diabetes since I was 10, I'm now 23, after a few years of good control, I went off the rails and have now only just started to take this illness seriously again.

It's not been too difficult to get back into the swing of it but I just keep asking myself- What's the point?

I continuously think that every twinge is neuropathy, that I'm going bling because I'm sensitive to light in the mornings and that it won't matter anyway because I'll be dead in a few years from these complications.

Ive been having some dark thoughts, and the only conclusion i can come to is that I can't die yet as I'll disappoint my family. It's such a pathetic post, but I'm finding it hard to see the positives when my health is only set to decline at a faster pace than a normal persons even with excellent control. I'd appreciate any advice, once again, sorry for the rather bleak post.

Thanks,

Person Lost.

NewTD2

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Don’t give up. Life is worth living.

Think about your family and friends, I’m sure they all love and care for you.

I find comfort in praying as I am a devoted Christian.

Kittycat_7_

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,
I'm ever so sorry your struggling, please see your GP ASAP about feeling low and the suicidal thoughts.
I'm here to listen.
Do you have much support?
Hope these feelings pass very quickly.
How is your diabetes control now?
Hope you feel better very soon
Take care

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
There are many, many T1 members here who lead exceptionally normal lives despite the condition. I am positive that speaking with them will convince you that T1 does not have to shorten or curtail your life. You wait, they will be along shortly. Best wishes.

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes