How do I say no to statins

lindisfel

Expert
My Doctor keeps on about Statins, trying to talk me into taking them and my bloods are a bit better than yours. I just look him in the face and say "The human race is running out of things to die of . I'll take my chance"

Also reflect on the fact that although they are professionals how often do they go on refresher courses? (that are not paid for by drug companies) As a chartered engineer I had to be able to show that I kept my knowledge up to date, It was career limiting not to. It was quite illuminating when I asked my GP and diabetic nurse when they last went on a refresher course!!
Doctors have continuous career development and education, my eldest is a GP.

srg100

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
No, stuffing oneself with anything, no matter how low carb, may raise bg. Dr Bernstein says that eating too much even of sawdust can do it.

Ithink I'll stick to veg - but not stuffing myself with them!

srg100

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Thought I'd let you all know how I got on at the doctor today.
It was all very calm and friendly and not nearly as bad as I thought it would be.

He started by telling me it was just an advisory appointment as my LDL was raised. As I'm on 3 drugs to control my blood pressure he felt I was at higher risk than someone who naturally had my current blood pressure, 121/82.
I pointed out that it had been higher than it is now,even on the medication. He felt there was still damage to my arteries.
He asked about heart disease in the family - my father had a stent put in at age 80 - so he was happy with that.

He offered me a choice - diet and exercise or statins.
He saw that I'd been on statins before and asked why I'd come off them. I told him I was worried abput side effects, especially on BG and weight.I felt the risk of that was more of a problem than the LDL.