JohnEGreen

Master
Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Tripe and Onions
Funny thing my bloods where 6.0 before my evening meal Have just tested and am at 2.5 according to my meter and as luck would have it was last strip in the pot I think it was a rogue reading but feel quite sickly at the moment.

Alexandra100

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Funny thing my bloods where 6.0 before my evening meal Have just tested and am at 2.5 according to my meter and as luck would have it was last strip in the pot I think it was a rogue reading but feel quite sickly at the moment.
You could eat a few fast-acting carbs just in case, but IMO 2.5 is very unlikely unless you are T1 or taking insulin or an insulin mimicking medication. I'm no expert, though.

Alexandra100

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
When the 2 hour post prandial reading is lower than expected, the first thing to do IMO is to go on testing to see if the rise is just postponed. You could be suffering from delayed stomach emptying, or just the effects of a fatty meal, which may take longer to digest. When I first started testing, I used to get 2 hour results that were the same as or lower than my pre-prandial ones. This was because the meal had not yet left my stomach! Gastro-paresis can be a result of damage to the vagal nerve by high blood sugars. It can be reversed by long-term correct blood sugars.

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only

Did you open a new pot and re-test?
If that reading was more or less correct it sounds like reactive hypoglycaemia to me. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't this happen a lot with you, albeit not quite so low?

JohnEGreen

Master
Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Tripe and Onions