RichardSp8

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi everyone,
I was diagnosed 4 days ago with type 1.
I am jumping into learning, reading, researching and really getting my head around everything. ( it’s how I deal with stressful/unexpected/shocking situations) I’ve just started carb cou ting today after a visit to my dietician and diabetes nurse.
(1 unit of Humalog per 10g of carbs to begin with)
Then 12units of my Abasaglar on an evening.
My main concern isn’t the eating or the carb counting or watching what I’m eating. I used to be a chef and have quite an exentisve knowledge of food and food backgrounds.
It isn’t learning about all the millions of things that I can come to expect with my new diagnosis.
The thing that is making me panic is how erratic my reading seem to be. Now if I’m just being dramatic or premature just tell me to stop.
When I was admitted to hospital my blood sugars were high 20’s.
Since beginning my insulin regimen they seem to be very erratic my nurse told me to test pre breakfast, pre lunch, pre dinner and pre bed.
They jump between 8 and 20 and seem to spike the most just before bed.
I’m going to bring this up at my next appointment.
My question is as a newbie to this new life is it to be exepected to see my blood sugars to be so erratic even though I have started on the insulin? Does anyone remember the first few days of their diagnosis? It’s just worrying me a little.
Thank you & apologies for the long winded post.

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @RichardSp8 ,

Welcome to the forum.

My first days of diagnosis was a dizzy haze back in the summer of 76.

I'll tag in some guys with a more recent recollection of diagnosis to say hello.
@Scott-C @therower

It does get easier. Just take it in bite sized chunks.

Reactions: RichardSp8

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin