Energy For Kayaking

DeejayR

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello again to my friends, and I hope you're able to enjoy this exceptional summer. I am after some advice on feeding for sustained exercise. I've scanned the threads here but don't understand the technical stuff and am not sure what's best for me.
Thanks to Mrs DeeJay's enthusiasm as a canoe club instructor, I'm in the middle of a weekly sea-kayaking course, which demands sustained energy for about 2½ hours. One of the requirements of the course is that all paddlers bring a sugary snack with them for half-time, and the course leader is a GP who won't countenance any alternatives, such as LCHF, on health and safety grounds, in the same way as a person with a heart defect wouldn't be accepted.
I've been taking a keto pseudo-bread roll with peanut butter and 90% chocolate bits, but this doesn't do the trick and since I want to finish the course I've got some protein bars with 9.4 carbs each, hoping to work off the excess glucose in the second half.
For a pre-session supply of slow-release energy I hoped that my old favourite of groats soaked overnight and then heated with almond milk would fit the bill, but alas they now send my BS to between 9.5 and 10.5 after only an hour.
Is there a safe compromise here?

Safi

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I personally find that nothing gives me sustained energy and steady glucose levels quite like beef but then I tend to do my kayaking in calmer waters! I've also never eaten it for breakfast so there's that as well. Perhaps some beef jerky at half-time might be enough to do the trick - some are higher in sugar than others but in addition to the sugar you'll get a good hit of protein & some salt to counter dehydration.

Reactions: Geoffno6

Mbaker

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Available fast foods in Supermarkets