Pre-D eating before bed snack options

Carole12

Hi!
This is my first time on the forum. My doc has told me to begin cutting out carbs and sugar. Sugar is no problem for me, but carbs!!! I love my jacket potatoes and Wholemeal bread. My test for insulin resistance was minimal he said and I had just a .2 elevation on my blood test for that H1.....? I am borderline for prediabetic if I don’t change my eating. I do have a blood glucose machine and took it first thing this morning which showed 6.6 ....this seemed high! (My other Acu check machine doesn’t seem to give high readings like this) .....any ways I had porridge with a little cream. One hour later it was 8.6 two hours later it was 6.9. I am going to make my own almond flour bread to try and keep my readings lower than this. My problem is eating just before bed ....surely I can have a cracker of sorts with cheese ? I am not overweight at all and have always had sugar showing in my urine for over 50 years if I happen to have sweet things.

Reactions: zauberflote

Brunneria

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi and welcome @Carole12

The whole cracker and cheese thing is something my husband struggles with. He thinks that cheese needs bread or toast or a cracker for full enjoyment. Me? I am hardcore, and I enjoy cheese by itself ;)

There are a few lower carb breads out there, and if you look at the nutritional info on the back of any bread or cracker packet, they usually give you the number of grammes of carbs in each cracker. So you can then work out which ones have fewer carbs, and decide whether you allow yourself those carbs in your daily intake.

From memory, Nairns oatcakes tend to be about 5g carbs each (don't quote me!) so as a pre diabetic you may well be able to include one or two of those. But I do suggest that you give cheese a go by itself. So much more flavour and intensity. Nowadays I view crackers as diluting the experience, rather than enhancing it. :D

EllieM