Starting a low carb and low calorie diet, need some advice, am I doing it right?

charlie000

Hi all,

After recently suffering from an atrial fibrillation event, nature has finally got to me. I need to change. I want to be healthy, and be happy.

My body stats:
  1. Weight: 9G KG
  2. Height: 5'7
  3. Age: 26
  4. BMI: Well over 33
  5. Health conditions: Asthmatic, possible AFIB and Pre Diabetic
My weight and body:
I am FAT. I do not look fat, the clothes I wear hide my fat very well and make me look smart. I look average, but the moment my shirt comes off there's a massive belly and bum.

I am 30kg-ish over my ideal weight. That's about 5 stone!

My activity
My activity levels are very low. I am a delivery driver so in and out of the van, which I jog to and back from customer's doors. Other than that it is limited.

My diet that I have planned:
I am to follow the Newcastle Diet, but with a twist. I want to go low carb, and low calorie. I create my own homemade soups, these are vegetable based (non starch) but with chicken or lamb stock. I can't do vegetable soup on it's own, I can't bare the taste.

Snacks:
I will snack on things like Radishes, cucumber without the skin, tomatoes. Is there anything else I can have? Any guides?

Progress
The first few days I failed, in the first night, I felt serious hunger. I could not last, so I had a biscuit. On the second day, I had a single slice of Tuna sandwich, left over by another family member.

Today is my official start date

I am drinking about 3.5 litres of water per day, and 2-3 teas a day.

I am to lose my weight and reach around 62 -64kg at the end.

Exercise:
At the moment I am doing no exercise. But I am starting 30 min walks everyday.

Can I make any changes or am I doing it right?

I know I will become diabetic fully if I do not intervene now.

Last edited:

zauberflote

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes