How do you work out what amount of carbs to start on?

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
@Pinkorchid Does the level that suits a person mean that if I tested 2 hours after eating the BG would have gone up less than 2m/mol? Is it the same if my BG is still at diabetic levels? It was 6.5 when I woke up this morning.

If you are testing out foods and number of carbs, it is the amount of any rise from before eating to after eating that matters, and how long it stays elevated. The actual level doesn't matter for these types of experiments.

PenguinMum

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
@Jim Lahey This scares me. I'm a teacher and am struggling to read my lesson plans these days due to blurriness of vision .
I would strongly advise you to book an eye test soon just to be on the safe side. Also you should be called for annual retinopathy checks at the hospital, all diabetics are. If you speak to your Diabetes nurse maybe you can have your first one during summer holidays of if not the Oct half term.

Reactions: Shas3

TriciaWs

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
I had read the advice that it's under 130g to start but choose to start at 100g a day, testing showed my blood sugar went down fast but I was seeing a small rise in the morning so I cut it to 85g. I discovered that more than 30g in one meal caused a sugar spike.
I also tested to check the impact of eating fruit and of eating lower carb bread, and have been very strict about the amount I eat.
I know some people go much lower, that depends on you own body and how it reacts - I didn't need to go any lower but I would not have know that without frequent testing at home.

Last edited:

Guna108

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)