Radio Therapy - Impact on Blood Glucose?

miahara

Type of diabetes
Type 3c
Treatment type
Insulin
Is there anyone who can comment about the impact of radio therapy on blood glucose? I commenced RT on my prostate a week ago and have found that my BG has risen beyond what I would normally expect. Any ideas as to how I should manage this would be mosr welcome.

ianf0ster

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
exercise, phone calls
Is there anyone who can comment about the impact of radio therapy on blood glucose? I commenced RT on my prostate a week ago and have found that my BG has risen beyond what I would normally expect. Any ideas as to how I should manage this would be mosr welcome.
Hi miahara,
I am a TOFI too, though I am controlling my BG with just dietary changes. While I have no experience of RT, it is almost certain that your body and probably your mind are under stress.
Stress is one of the factors that tend to raise BG along with infection, lack of sleep etc.

I feel it is only to be expected that your BG will be higher until you start to recover.
How high is your BG ? - If it is worryingly high then you need to talk to your GP about adjusting your meds.
So then just focus on getting well and try not to stress yourself about the BG .

Larissima

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
By eating a low carb diet? However, that wasn't easy for me when I was having RT on one breast - I felt so low that I justified many "treats" which escalated into at least a weekly carb binge for months. I decided that cancer was a more important foe to battle than diabetes at that stage, so just lived with (slightly) elevated BG readings. They reduced back to normal within a week or two after finishing RT, bar the carb-binge effects. How much have your BG values increased, and what do you eat?
BTW, I've had an unusually bad time with RT side-effects; a friend who had RT on the prostate had no issues whatsoever!