Some days insulin doesn't seem to lower blood sugar at all

Quinapril

Hello everyone.

I am still quite new to the diabetes world and recently got back on insulin after my honeymoon period.
Still getting my basal insulin in order and working everything out.

Currently on low carb, taking 6 units basal Abasaglar (which I probably still need to increase) and I take about 2 - 3 bolus units of Fiasp with meals.

I have noticed something interesting and was hoping that maybe someone could tell me what's up.

On some mornings and days, it seems that I can control my blood sugar pretty well and it stays around 5 - 6 - 7 mmol.
However, on some days my sugar just seems to want to stay in the 8 - 9's for example today. I ate a meal that raises my blood sugar very little and I would only bolus 1 unit for it but my blood sugar was 9 so I took 3 units for correction. 2 hours later blood glucose is at 8.7 took 2 more units for correction and now about 1.5 hours after the correction my sugar is still around 8 when in the good days 2 units would lower my sugar by 3 - 4 mmol.

I was wondering whether this could be because I still don't have my basal set up right because glucose seems to raise to 8 or more during the night.
Also, could stress be the cause of this? Because I am a student and have a lot of study work at the moment which needless to say makes me quite anxious and maybe even panicky.

Any ideas or advice is highly appreciated!

Edit: Probably worth noting that I use freestyle libre CGM so I can constantly have an idea of where my sugars are at any given time

Last edited:

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
forum bugs
I am still quite new to the diabetes world and recently got back on insulin after my honeymoon period.
Still getting my basal insulin in order and working everything out.