Anaemia and HbA1c

Hi

I was diagnosed about a month ago, along with a diagnosis of severe iron deficient anaemia. I had a very high HbA1c of 76. Very brief consultation with a diabetic nurse, which was along the lines of take metformin and have bloods tested in 3 months. Despite being told not to test blood glucose, I have been, and testing seems quite reasonable, on average just under 5 on waking to a max of 7 after meals. I have been following a lowish carb diet, as need to shift some weight.

It just seems that I would have expected my blood glucose level to have been worse, given that my HbA1c was so high at 76, and I have read some info that suggests that the HbA1c level can be artificially inflated by severe anaemia? Or is that just wishful thinking?

Thanks

Rach612

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Diet only
Im sorry to hear of your diagnoses. I’m no expert but I read that too and a private endro mentioned it to me as well. Did you test your levels before you started taking the metformin? Do you know did your GP do any other tests to confirm knowing of the anemia?

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
forum bugs
I have been following a lowish carb diet, as need to shift some weight.
Or it could just be that your lowish carb diet is low enough to normalise your blood sugars, and you are diabetic, though potentially with a level lower than 76 but still higher than a non diabetic's. What's your fasting bg like? That is often one of the first readings to go up if you become diabetic.

And weight gain can be a symptom of T2....