What's the worst I can eat?

MrsA2

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
As part of my battle with my surgery to get my diabetes recognised, I'm currently using a Libre2.
What is the worst thing/meal that I could eat to show a high and persistent rise in BG?
I only want to do it once, and nothing too addictive. I will be strict low carb before and after.
Well, that's the plan. Will it work? What food would guarantee the rise I need?

Lakeslover

I’m no expert as I avoid these things. But how about two slices of toast and jam, or porridge……or even both!

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
As part of my battle with my surgery to get my diabetes recognised, I'm currently using a Libre2.
What is the worst thing/meal that I could eat to show a high and persistent rise in BG?
I only want to do it once, and nothing too addictive. I will be strict low carb before and after.
If you want to show, I'd choose to eat what is recommended, so follow the eatwell plate and go a bit on the heavy side on the carbs. Choose something you don't particularly like to prevent addictive effects.

If you want more proof, what about a sweet and fatty cake the next day? A non diabetic would be able to deal with this without going over 11 max, and going close to 11 would be suspect.

I wouldn't use something sugary without fats: they tend to spike quick but can drop quick as well.

Reactions: SaskiaKC and EllieM

Dandelade

Well don’t leave us hanging like that’s mrsa2! What’s your plan for the data? A baseline to compare later tests with the same meal? A general test for insulin resistance? I’m intrigued!

ps worst bg meal I had before low carbs and ditched eat well was a risotto...

Dandelade

Well don’t leave us hanging like that’s mrsa2! What’s your plan for the data? A baseline to compare later tests with the same meal? A general test for insulin resistance? I’m intrigued!