Freestyle libre sensors falling off

smithyg17

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I have been using the freestyle libre since January 2019.
The sensors were great and most of them lasted the full 2 weeks on my arm.

I was upgraded to the libre 2 in March this year and since then, the sensors have been a nightmare.

I haven’t had a single sensor stay on my arm for the full 2 weeks since March.
Majority of them are only lasting 4 days.
My last sensor only lasted 1 day!

I haven’t changed my routine at all, I still do the same a activities yet the sensors seem to be getting worst.
I know you can contact Abbot and get replacements sent out and I’ve done that numerous times but I’m getting fed up having to constantly change my sensors and order new ones.

I noticed that when I go for a shower, the sensors start to peel off.
I have bought some Kinesiology tape of eBay however I feel after about 3 showers, the tape starts to come off and then the sensors falls off after this.

Can anyone recommend anything different to keep the sensor on?
Or has anyone got any tips on how to keep the sensors on?

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
My Libre 2 sensors are also like limpets and are at least as sticky as Libre 1.
If you are having problems with the Kinesiology tape, it suggests the problem is not with the sensors.
Have you considered using the 3d printed straps to hold your sensors in place? I don't need them but have heard they are useful. There are a number available from eBay.

sleepster

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I'm having trouble with the libre 2s as well, but thankfully haven't lost one yet. The libre 1s still so sticky after the 14 days, I'm sure they used to take a layer of skin off with them, but the libre 2s start getting flappy around the edges a couple of days in :nailbiting: