Hello fellow diabetics

GhummZ

Hello all

Thought i would post in this section so i can say hello an tell me story at the time.

Im a 36year old male nurse. Absolute food lover.

Over the covid lockdown period, aftet dealing with much death and dying in the acute sector i turned to comfort eating to make me feel better. Before i knew it, we were out of lockdown and none of my going out clothes fitted as i had put on significant weight.

3 months ago, i began to become symtomatic, as a nurse i should have recognised the signs, in a way, at the back of my mind i did, but buried my head in the sand as we men do.

Night driving became difficult, was lethargic all the time, i could sleep for 12 hours and still be tired every waking minute of the day.

The the major 'classic' symptom started. I kept peeing. Like massive amounts despite not drinking anything. I was up every 30 minutes during the night and easily passing what fealt like half a litre. Still, i buried my hrad in the sand thinking it will go away.

The day i decided to see my gp, was my kidneys has had enough and i was in a lot of pain in the kidney region. They were at this point exhausted from passing so much glucose to cleanse my system.

Gp dipped my uring, confirmed +++glucose, finger prick test done, 14.6mmol

As my gp knows what my profession is, said no more other than "you know where this is going"

Urgent hba1c taken, result a few days later - 10.4%

Metformin started and my life changed overnight.

First month i went through a cycle of depression not having a clue what to do or eat but slowly got the hang of it.

My weight at this stage was 108.9kgs with a bmi of 39.

As time has gone past, its become second nature to me and dont even have to think anymore.

Over the past 3 months i set myself a goal to better myself to let me stay on top of this.

First month i concentrated on perfecting my diet and by the second month joined the gym.