Coconut oil

NotSoSweet2

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Rudeness, tv soaps.
Thank you all, your replies are really helpful as a relatively newbie I am always learning new things and this site is wonderful for getting advice and insight, new idea's etc.

mistyweather

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
I have a dollop of unrefined coconut oil in my Oats So Simple lin he mornings. Going to have to give this up soon as I want to start the LCHF diet as soon as I come back from my holiday in a couple of weeks. Will have to find another way of having my daily dose. Another great use, sometimes for dinner I have peppers, red onions, courgette and carrot roasted with the stuff and a bit of balsamic. Love this and it doesn't seem to harm my sugars either

FatGenes999

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Smug health care professionals; pretense, pomposity and presumptuousness; people who have a disregard for other people's health and safety; being "fenced-in"; arbitrary authority; nonsensical rules; political correctness; stupidity that masquerades as profundity.
I haven't missed a day of using coconut oil since I discovered that it helps to keep my GI tract in good working order, so we're talking about 1 and 1/2 years. Now I also use it as a source of fat to lower my BG. I usually have it 1:1 ratio with teaspoons of ground flax, or, sometimes in a warm drink, coffee, tea, etc.

Reactions: 2 people

Robbity

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
....even my local Tesco now carry a good stock of Virgin coconut oil!
That's good to know as I've just got some via Amazon - if I get it from Tesco instead it comes out of housekeeping money and not out of my own pocket! :joyful:

Robbity

Beachbag

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Filling in forms! ;)