Type 2's: What was your fasting blood glucose in a morning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pasha

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Hi yes i got a meter when my gp diagnosed me. Is Bs Blood sugar ?? If so i tested around 6.45am and it was 5.4 i still dont know what HbA1c means ??? I prob wrote that wrong think the b is meant to he capital but people were askin me yesterday what mine was but Im still learning things ye spell short and what they mean only 2 days on here.

Caitriona :)

In simple terms HbA1c measures the amount of glucose that has reacted with you hemoglobin. If you have high blood glucose values over time you will also have high HbA1c values. Hope this helps.

Reactions: 17 people

loulou99782

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi yes i got a meter when my gp diagnosed me. Is Bs Blood sugar ?? If so i tested around 6.45am and it was 5.4 i still dont know what HbA1c means ??? I prob wrote that wrong think the b is meant to he capital but people were askin me yesterday what mine was but Im still learning things ye spell short and what they mean only 2 days on here.

Caitriona :)
HbA1c is your average long term blood sugar level over about 3 months. If I remember right the sugar clings onto the haemoglobin in our blood and that's how they get a long term average to check your sugar control.
A good book to buy in the UK is diabetes for dummies I have found it really useful.

Reactions: 14 people

Caitriona

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
T2 at the mo and on insulatard a intermediate acting insulin twice a day 10units in a morning and 6-8 in the evening depending on food and sugar levels. Insulin is used for lots of people who have trouble controlling there sugar levels with diet or tablets.
Any questions just ask away we will all try to help. As Clive said have you got a meter and what are your levels like.

Oh rite i see thanks for letting me know everything helps.