A Mince Pie Conundrum

AdamJames

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
When it's December, it's close to Christmas, and it's been snowing outside all day ... is it okay for a diabetic to eat mince pies with impunity?

I'm not a medical expert...

BUT

... it seems reasonable to me that this should be allowed.

And after reading study after study, nobody has specifically advised against it.

So that's the same as saying that it's fine.

Isn't it?

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
Lol. I love your take on things. I, too, have done extensive and detailed research into the possible effects of mince pies on the metabolism and found zilch therefor my conclusion is that unless and until RCTs have proved otherwise I shall be indulging in said yum yum during the coming festive season. ;)

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I would say it's ok for me, someone with type 1 diabetes, to eat a mince pie if I bolus for it. I haven't had, or even been offered, any mince pies yet. But I will be eating one after a 10k run on the beach next Sunday because it's a Christmas run and you get given a mince pie at the finish line :) I might have to buy some mince pies for work tomorrow (I couldn't possibly inflict my baking on them and if I get the mini mince pies I saw in the supermarket earlier the carb content is totally managable).

AdamJames

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Lol. I love your take on things. I, too, have done extensive and detailed research into the possible effects of mince pies on the metabolism and found zilch therefor my conclusion is that unless and until RCTs have proved otherwise I shall be indulging in said yum yum during the coming festive season. ;)

Thing are looking promising!

Some enterprising cook could always try these...
https://www.ditchthecarbs.com/low-carb-christmas-mince-pies/

Top tip, I'll be giving those a go!