Tony337

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being on holiday....
Hi
I take my background insulin twice a day then take my fast acting insulin with food or if in need of some.......
I'm a seasoned pro of 44 years and yet.......

I can't tell which is which....either could be either.....the labels just won't sink in.
Am I basaling or bolusing I don't know....

Does anyone else struggle with this ?

Tony

porl69

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Stupid people
I say in my head BOWLUS. I have breakfast in a BOWL and need to bolus for that......does that even make sense lol

Reactions: Sweetheart66

Tony337

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being on holiday....
I say in my head BOWLUS. I have breakfast in a BOWL and need to bolus for that......does that even make sense lol

You have bowled me over with that one.....

I think the bolus bonus idea of mels might help.

Tony

Reactions: kev-w

kev-w

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
In my head the basal's my baseline/background insulin or the night-time jab and the bolus is my fast acting, for food and corrections, to be honest it's only on here I use basal and bolus in speech if talking about diabetes as T0's struggle with it as it is....

But then I only have one background insulin injection a day at night :)

Reactions: Robinredbreast

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
I think I would just add - please don't mix the two up when you inject, i've done it a few times and it's a pain ! :banghead:

Reactions: Struma and kitedoc

kitedoc

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
black jelly beans
I think of basal as in base of the pyramid, or foundation which lasts. Base instruments provide the back beat for the music.
We swallow food down in a bolus