Can anyone help me with my food choices.

Badboydavey1

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Can anyone send a link for a guide for dummies for recipes cause I'm getting stuck between low carb or low sugar ( which should I be looking at),I tried the low carb diet for a week but it didn't drop my levels by much and when the nurse asked if I could maintain it for life too tell you the truth I said no cause I couldn't maintain a low carb/sugar meal plan ???

Sent from my iPad using DCUK Forum

Reactions: 2 people

DeejayR

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
@Badboydavey1 Hiya, I've read through your posts and can't help much because I have no medical knowledge of your other issues and meds, but I see you're getting really good advice from others on here so hang in there (you'll be getting used to that advice by now!)
Your question and about carbs and sugar -- look for the carb content and never mind the sugar. Carbs are all sugar to us.

Badboydavey1

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Thx for all imput but I can't have too many eggs as I take creon 40,000 with every meal so I suffer bad from constipation

D

debrasue

Thx for all imput but I can't have too many eggs as I take creon 40,000 with every meal so I suffer bad from constipationSent from my iPad using DCUK Forum
Hi, @Badboydavey1 and welcome to the forum!

I'm sorry to hear you didn't get on with low-carbing, although a week isn’t very long to start seeing results. When I first started back in March, I didn't see any consistent results until I had been doing it for about a month, but then it really took off (and all the cravings had totally vanished!).

In answer to your earlier question, too, I’m afraid both sugar AND carbs are to be avoided.

Browsing this thread and taking the online LCHF training course on the website will give you a great idea of the things you can/can't safely eat, but I'm wondering about any other medical issues you may have...