Celeriac chips

LittleGreyCat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Diet drinks - the artificial sweeteners taste vile.
Having to forswear foods I have loved all my life.
Trying to find low carb meals when eating out.
Celeriac has been mentioned quite a few times as an alternative to potatoes, and for use in mash and chips.
I'm experimenting at the moment (deep frying celeriac chips as I type).
All the recipes that I have seen so far have been for oven chips, and part of the "healthy" seems to be not frying them in oil or fat.

So, has anyone deep fried them?
I used to be an expert chipper with potatoes but this is a learning curve, with the heat of the oil and the thickness of the chips.
First thing is that they immediately come to the surface and float, whereas potato chips rise to the surface when done, so how do you judge when they are done?

I'm experimenting with a small pan of oil for the moment. If this is a success I will bring the electric deep fat fryer down from the loft where it has languished for some years.

Reactions: Serena51

Fruitella

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
I did try frying a handful after briefly par boiling but not a fantastic success. I then did some as mash and then as there was some left over I fried some as mash the following day. Think the trick is make sure as much moisture as possible is removed first. Good value veg but rather large!

Boo1979

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Ive made oven chips with them which were ok, Ive also used celeriac to amke some nice soups. Celeriac does seem to absorb fluid when cooking so I would think that they would absorb too much fat and possibly disintegrate if deep fried

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
People that can't listen to other people's opinions.
People that can't say sorry.