Diagnosed Today.

Telboy62

Hi everyone. Got the call this morning from my GP. It's not a huge surprise as type 2 is a family thing. My GP suggested the website and forum and frankly i'm already confused as to the between the NHS eating advice and the low carb diets. What is the best advice for someone literally on their first (confirmed) day of diabetes?
For info the doc said my test was 9.4 and that was after a 12 hour fast. I'm a self employed painter and decorator and part time radio presenter. Looking forward to getting to know you all and learning all i can about dealing with this.

Reactions: ziggy_w

Diane_56

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi everyone. Got the call this morning from my GP. It's not a huge surprise as type 2 is a family thing. My GP suggested the website and forum and frankly i'm already confused as to the between the NHS eating advice and the low carb diets. What is the best advice for someone literally on their first (confirmed) day of diabetes?
For info the doc said my test was 9.4 and that was after a 12 hour fast. I'm a self employed painter and decorator and part time radio presenter. Looking forward to getting to know you all and learning all i can about dealing with this.
I still find it hard to deal with sometimes

Reactions: Perminder1

xfieldok

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Welcome. You will get loads of advice very shortly. We mainly do low carb. Please ignore nhs advice it is dire for T2.

Reactions: Telboy62

xfieldok

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Read The diabetes Code by jason Fung. He also has some YouTube videos.

Use the next few days educate yourself. We normally point people at the dietdoctor.com for meal ideas.

If you can tell us what you eat in a typical day, we can give you some advice.

lessci

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)