Diagnosed with type 2 today

Dakkobear

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi I'm Marion and was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes today. I'm new to all this, no family history of diabetes. I'm 53 and fat so no real surprise I suppose.
The GP I saw happens to run the diabetic clinic so that was handy. My blood glucose was 27 somethings and should be under 7 somethings apparently. I left the surgery with Gliclazide which I have to take twice a day and a Glucomen areo blood glucose monitoring system. My main problem at the moment is that I have no idea what to eat. I had to get an appointment for the diabetes clinic where I see the dietician, podiatrist, and Doctor but that's not until April.
I'm used to calorie controlled diets - unsuccessful but I know how they work but not anything where carbs and sugar are controlled so I have no real idea what is considered low enough to be OK if that makes any sense?
Anyway, the GP recommended this site so I will read it all thoroughly over the next couple of days and any tips or suggestions where to start would be fab.
A wee bit of personal information. I'm married with two daughters 27 and 22. I live in Fife Scotland with two dogs, three cats and a tortoise. We have an elderly horse which lives nearby. I teach computer programming at college level and I love to read and crochet.
Thanks in advance for any advice.

miahara

Type of diabetes
Type 3c
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi Marion! I was in the same position as you 13 months ago, though am an underweight T2 diabetic. It's great that your GP seems clued up enough to point you to this site as you'll very soon get a stack of replies and support. I think you now have to forget calories and start concentrating on carbohydrates and how to reduce them as it's carbs that turn into sugar and being unable to use up the sugar creates the high blood glucose levels. Many folk on here follow a low carb high fat diet - LCHF. I'll tag @daisy1 and she'll post a very helpful 'primer' for you to read.