Difference between Keto and Low Carb - members’ experiences

samcham

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello I’ve been sticking to keto for 3 months and although BS readings have been okay I have not felt good. Extremely tired in the mornings and so lacking in energy.
Was trying to keep under 20g of carbs a day. I find it quite restrictive. Then I start to feel miserable and the old need to binge pops into my head.
I use Carb Manager app and i just looked and saw I can change my macros to Low Carb High Fat which will allow 50g of carbs which I think will be much more doable.
I haven’t lost any weight on keto either - I am eating about 1800 cals a day and am satiated
But it just feels a bit miserable and draining.
Anyone got same experiences or any advice?
Newly diagnosed PD even though I prob have been PD for a long time.
Wearing a CGM for next month so am noting all the foods and how I react!
Thanks x

D

Deleted member 475901

If you test before then 2 hours after meals you can work out how many carbs your body tolerates.

In my case that was 85g a day but no more than 30g in a meal.

Reactions: samcham

samcham

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
If you test before then 2 hours after meals you can work out how many carbs your body tolerates.

In my case that was 85g a day but no more than 30g in a meal.