Food

Marcus1234

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi All, I'm a newbie with type 2 diabetes. I have been very careful with what I eat. But cannot understand what has happened today.
I had a chicken cup a soup in work, checked my BG before and it was 6.3, checked again and hour later it was 8.9.
Tea time I had spicy chicken wings and Singapore rice noodles, checked before eating 5.9, checked again and hour later 6.6.
I would have thought the Chinese meal would have raised by BG and not the chicken soup.
Has this happened with anyone else?
Thanks

xfieldok

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Was it a packet cup a soup? If so read the ingredients.

Check 2 hours after eating.

I wish I could have noodles!

dbr10

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi All, I'm a newbie with type 2 diabetes. I have been very careful with what I eat. But cannot understand what has happened today.
I had a chicken cup a soup in work, checked my BG before and it was 6.3, checked again and hour later it was 8.9.
Tea time I had spicy chicken wings and Singapore rice noodles, checked before eating 5.9, checked again and hour later 6.6.
I would have thought the Chinese meal would have raised by BG and not the chicken soup.
Has this happened with anyone else?
Thanks
I think you need to check the nutritional formation for the soup. Did it have added sugar or high carbs?
@xfieldok

Yes check after two hours is best.

Reactions: Marcus1234

Alexandra100

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I had spicy chicken wings and Singapore rice noodles, checked before eating 5.9, checked again and hour later 6.6.
Did you check again at 2 hours? The peak bg doesn't always come conveniently at 1 hour. Especially with a meal that contains a lot of fat, which slows digestion.

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)