1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2019 »
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Freestyle Libre

Discussion in 'Blood Glucose Monitoring' started by Senior_Squirrel, Sep 15, 2019.

1. Senior_Squirrel

Senior_Squirrel Type 3c · Newbie

I am new to the Freestyle Libra system and I am wondering how members are addressing the issue of delayed readings with there libra when driving. When I scan and get a reading of 4.3 should I still drive knowing that a blood test would be above 5. Some feedback and advice would be appreciated

2. Rokaab

Rokaab Type 1 · Well-Known Member

If it says 4.3 on the reader you need a blood test to confirm its above 5 as you believe it is.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. ert

ert Type 1 · Well-Known Member

On my DAFNE course, we learnt that you will need evidence you are above 5 mmol/l with a Libre scan or a finger prick up to 15 minutes before driving. It won't be enough to calibrate with an educated guess.

• Like Like x 1
  4. EllieM

EllieM Type 1 · Well-Known Member

Absolutely. The libre can be very inaccurate, all the time for some people, some of the time for others, and is particularly known to be dubious at hypo levels. There's also the issue of occasional dodgy sensors and the fact that newly activated sensors tend to be inaccurate for the first 24 hours.