Frequency of testing, advice needed please.

CliveUK

About three weeks ago I was diagnosed as pre-diabetic, I just tipped into the scale at 42. I have changed my diet and I am doing my utmost to bring my figures back into the normal range before I have to go back to my doctors mid January to be re-tested.

To try and keep track of my progress I have purchased a Contour Next One meter, I am now wondering how often I should test myself in order to build up some sort of picture of how I am doing. I am currently thinking of testing myself three times during a day, one day a week, Is that a good plan or should I be doing it more often?

Any help or advice much appreciated, I am a total newbie to all this :)

Last edited:

Mike d

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Dislikes
idiots who will not learn
About three weeks ago I was diagnosed as pre-diabetic, I just tipped into the scale at 42. I have changed my diet and I am doing my utmost to bring my figures back into the normal range before I have to go back to my doctors mid January to be re-tested.

To try and keep track of my progress I have purchased a Contour Next One meter, I am now wondering how often I should test myself in order to build up some sort of picture of how I am doing. I am currently thinking of testing myself three times during a day, one day a week, Is that a good plan or should I be doing it more often?

Any help or advice much appreciated, I am a total newbie to all this :)

Far more often than that Clive .... every day is a must and with all meals minimum

What is your current diet?

Reactions: CliveUK

Mr_Pot

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only