General good/bad food charts?

alex_read

Dislikes
Inconsiderance for others.
Hi everyone! :D

I'm living abroad and am coming back to the UK for a Christmas holiday (yey!) I'm a really keen cook and am looking forward to cooking for my family and making the most of the lovely ingredients there - can't wait.

My brother is a type 1 diabetic and will be eating everything that I cook, so I need to plan pretty carefully. Now the last time I made him anything, I was using tables & pie charts I had found from the net which were saying things like:

* x% of the meal should be carbs, y% protien and whathaveyou
* brocolli abc sugars in 100g
cauliflower def sugars in 100g

That sort of thing. This time round not only can I not find many charts I trust, but there's been talk on the forums on whether a lad of carbs are good or not and am feeling a little confused. Are there any tables/charts like this which any of you use? Are there any on this site at all too (I have had a look before posting but am still searching).

Thanks everyone! :)

Dennis

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
Dislikes
People who join web forums to be agressive and cause trouble
Hi Alex,
Have you checked with your brother what his normal eating regime is? As he is Type-1 he will medicate with insulin injections. Some Type-1s prefer to live on a low or lowish-carb diet so that they need less insulin. Others will eat whetever they want and deal with sugar spikes by injecting more insulin. Also most type-1s these days are taught to carb-count so that they know exactly how many carbs they are eating and can inject an appropriate amount of insulin at each meal to deal with the carbs.