Hello just diagnosed type 2

Phi

Hi my name is phi
I love in Edinburgh Scotland
And I am a mature semi -retired student studying history.
I am 56 years old but disabled through having chronic CFS and fybomalga.
Exercise is difficult for me and I am diet controlled at the moment.
All I have been told us lose weight and cut down the carbs.... Useful advice!!!

I have just been diagnosed as type 2 and I'm still a bit confused
I was told not to check my blood glucose by the diabetic nurse one minute then told if I really wanted to I would have to buy everything myself. But as I am a mature student this would be expensive. Does anybody
Have any advice a) on type 2 and b) on glucose machine kits
And where I can get then cheep!y and what is the best one
Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Phi

ziggy_w

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi @Phi,

Welcome to the forum. IMO, the best place on the internet for information and advice on diabetes.

Also, great advice from your health care professionals. Cutting carbs, for most of us T2s, has had a tremendous impact on our blood sugar levels.

Using a blood sugar meter is of great help to see how food impacts our blood sugar levels. Measure right before you eat and two hours after your first bite. Some of the meters are quite reasonable in price, tagging @Rachox for some info on inexpensive meters and strips.

Have a read around and feel free to ask questions.

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi Phi and welcome. I cut carbs and self tested to learn the effect of different foods on my blood sugars. I couldn’t exercise much when I got my type 2 diagnosis as I was waiting for surgery on my feet. But still I managed to normalise my blood sugars and lose a shed load of weight.