Help blood sugar way too high

Exco16

Hello I’m new to this but wondered if there was anyone who could help me I have had type2 diabetes for quite a few years but really haven’t kept a big check on it so now I am having trouble with working out what I’m supposed do to get my blood sugar down my morning ones have been very high between 15.1 / 16.1 then before lunch they are 13.1 then before dinner roughly 11.1 then before bed 15 / 16 again I know this is very bad but I’m worrying so much now about it I am changing my bread from normal white to wholemeal and seedy brown one also nuts to snack on but the nurse at my doctors seem to think I will never get down to single figures but after having nuts and changing bread I got the blood down to 9.01 but only once and that was at about 5 o’clock before dinner any one out there tell me how I can get myself back on track many thanks for any help

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hello and welcome to the forum Exco16
Although you’re not new to type 2 you may find this info for newbies useful:
https://www.diabetes.co.uk/forum/threads/basic-information-for-newly-diagnosed-diabetics.17088/
I know you think you have done the right thing changing to brown bread and this has indeed shown some improvement, however all carbs regardless of being brown or white are a problem for us type 2s.
Many of us here now have non diabetic numbers by reducing our carb intake. Stick with us and we’ll help you.

JoKalsbeek

Expert
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only