hypos.....

jonesy

my 9 year old boy diagnosed type 1 two weeks ago.

both my son and i are extremely nervous about hypos. my son is very scared of having a night hypo and wants to sleep in my room every night, so that i wouild be there to help him should he have one.

i have no experience of being around a hypo in my life, so i am totally clueless.

how often,generally, do type 1 diabetics have hypo, and how serious are they usually?

is it a case of just feeling odd and taking on glucose? or are they usually worse than that?

cugila

Master
Dislikes
People who are touchy.......feign indignation at the slightest thing. Hypocrites, bullies and cowards.
Here is a link to all the information you are probably ever going to want to know about Hypo's (Hypoglycaemia).
http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/dm/pubs/hypoglycemia/

how often,generally, do type 1 diabetics have hypo, and how serious are they usually ?
If the Diabetes and Bg levels are well controlled then there should be no real problems. It is just something to be aware of. Testing before bedtime will allow you/him to know what is a good level to be at and then test in the morning on waking to see if any adjustments (food/insulin) are required ?

is it a case of just feeling odd and taking on glucose? or are they usually worse than that ?

It depends how low he goes ? Normally glucotabs or Lucozade or any other quick acting drink will suffice then after about 15 - 20 mins check the levels and if OK have a slow acting carby snack to keep the levels stable.

jonesy

thank you very much. our worlds have been turned upside down right now, and feeling v nervous about the future.
i want to learn as much as i can about this awful illness so i can help, but a lot of what i read just scares me!

cugila

Master
Dislikes
People who are touchy.......feign indignation at the slightest thing. Hypocrites, bullies and cowards.
Hi jonesy.