I have blood sugar questions!!

Auto E

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello! I am brand new here. I am a college professor; I teach Anatomy & Physiology and I have always had a particular interest in type II diabetes. Maybe I sensed something coming. :)

My Grandmother had type II diabetes; I was declared "borderline" gestational diabetes with my second son, and he weighed almost 9 pounds.... so yeah, I think something was going on that I was kind of trying to ignore, in hindsight.

1 year ago I officially started restricting carbohydrates very carefully to between 50 and 75 g/day on weekdays and 75 -100 g on weekends. My A1C at the start of this was 5.6% (37.7mmol/mol). I lost over 20 pounds and my BMI dropped from 26.9 to 22.5. Great stuff, right? But last week my A1C was 5.9% (41 mmol/mol). Sigh. Cry. Pout.

So, in the planning of my next experiments to see if I can figure out what's going on with my blood sugar, I have a few questions for y'all. Please answer one or all of them based on your personal experiences and your passions! I am really looking for your personal experiences, not what the literature says (which I have read ad nauseum).

How, if at all, have the following factors affected your personal A1C (or your blood sugar readings, if you take them) over time?
1. skipping breakfast or other types of intermittent fasting (I currently do this and I'm seeing my blood glucose worsen)
2. having a small amount of carbs before bed (I do not do this - never have - but I have read it actually helps some people keep their FBG lower)
3. having a small amound of protein and/or fat before bed (I do not do this - never have - but I have read it actually helps some people keep their FBG lower)
4. exercising in the fasted state (I currently do this at a fairly gentle level, but I still see a rise in BG and I'm beginning to wonder if this is also counterproductive for my particular body)