Prediabetes I'm fairly new to glucose testing and wonder if someone can answer my queries please?

gardengnome42

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
diabetes and dieting
I had a routine HbA1c test done about 2 months ago and it was 43. I've now been told that I am prediabetic and to have another HbA1c taken in a year. I know it has been 41 for at least 5 years which was when I had a health check and hypertension discovered, but with weight I lost since then and the walking I do I was disappointed that it had risen.
I thought by testing my blood it would help but really I am just more confused. I have been taking a finger prick test on waking and before and after the evening meal. Trouble is I don't really know what I should be expecting to see. The fasting glucose reading is anywhere between 5.6 and 6.9 mostly around 6.5 and the post meal is normally in the 8's but this evening was 9.3 at 2 hours. Is this telling me anything relevant - I do have a feeling it is higher than it should be.

AdamJames

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I had a routine HbA1c test done about 2 months ago and it was 43. I've now been told that I am prediabetic and to have another HbA1c taken in a year. I know it has been 41 for at least 5 years which was when I had a health check and hypertension discovered, but with weight I lost since then and the walking I do I was disappointed that it had risen.
I thought by testing my blood it would help but really I am just more confused. I have been taking a finger prick test on waking and before and after the evening meal. Trouble is I don't really know what I should be expecting to see. The fasting glucose reading is anywhere between 5.6 and 6.9 mostly around 6.5 and the post meal is normally in the 8's but this evening was 9.3 at 2 hours. Is this telling me anything relevant - I do have a feeling it is higher than it should be.