intermittent fasting

chri5

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi, I know that a lot of people here report some excellent results with intermittent fasting and I wondered, does I F cause liver dumps? and if not why not? I would love to know more about this as I am considering trying it myself and, yes I could simply google it (which I intend to do) but there is no substitute for real life experience and I would very much like to tap in to the huge resource available right here. Many thanks in advance.Chris.

Reactions: 2 people

britishpub

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
@chri5

I have been IFing for a few months now.

Tuesday & Thursday I only have Water between getting up, and my evening meal, which is 24 hours after the last time I previously ate.

Initially when I tested during the day, especially at around 3-4PM my BG was higher than my FBG first thing in the morning, which was probably due to a "Liver Dump"

After a couple of weeks this stopped, and now if I test mid to late afternoon I am usually getting low 4's or even high 3's.

Since IFing my FBG's are regularly in the 4's and I have assumed with absolutely no actual proof or knowledge to back this up, that my Liver and Muscles are now pretty much empty of Glucagon and as I eat Low Carb the rest of the time they do not get topped up at other times.

Brunneria

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I have to have a steady fat intake when I IF, or I lurch from liver dump to hypo (but then I have RH, and exercise affects my insulin resistance quite a bit, so it is a rollercoaster that slow-release fat smooths out). Don't think that other people necessarily find the same.

- basically I just have a coffeencream for breakfast (no carbs, no protein) and cream stops the liver dump. Then I eat lunch and dinner, making it a kind of IF/fat fast hybrid.

Indy51

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only