Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Jazz Music, Soap Operas,
Hi,

(This is long, apologies)

I think this question may need for me to put a tin foil hat on while asking, but I have been stressing about this for over six months, and I honestly can't take holding it in any more.

I was moved to Novamix over six months ago and the initial period was hard for me to handle. As soon as I started taking the Novamix, I started getting an irritated stomach. It was agony, and I had quite a few embarrassing situations in the first few weeks. I had had problems with other diabetes injectables (the names escape me now) that caused irritated stomach, but I was assured that Novamix was perfectly fine to take as it had no side effects that would affect me in that way. So I initially thought that this crossover was the old injectable getting out of my system and it would all settle down given time.

Well after six weeks the problems were persisting so I called the Diabetic Nurse and asked if Novamix could in any way be affecting my gut, the answer was a resounding NO!!

I carried on taking it for a few more weeks, and when things came to a VERY embarrassing conclusion, I just stopped taking the Novamix, I sunk into a depression and neglected pretty much everything to do with my DIabetes and concentrated on my Mental Health. When I went back for my three monthly check up with the Diabetic Nurse, I got a sound telling off for being non-compliant with my medication and not keeping track of bloods. I explained about the stomach issues and again, the nurse insisted that it was nothing to do with the medication and maybe I should look at IBS as a problem. (side Note - I have never had an issue with IBS type symptoms before or during my time with insulin based Diabetes injectables - It seemed strange that it would start now).

I was sent off with a flea in my ear to do better and see you in three months.