Is this normal or unusual?

Mal37

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Social situations
Following a discussion yesterday with other forum members, I took the bull by the horn (well... sounds dramatic) and I missed breakfast for the very first time ... not eating until 1.45pm.
My blood glucose just prior to the meal was 4.6 ... NEVER seen a 4 before! and I have tested .. out of curiosity at the hour stage.
It is 5.6 !!! I had expected it to be far more after just 60 minutes since my first bite of food,.
I have never done this before so could do with a kind person explaining this low reading

Reactions: dbr10

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Following a discussion yesterday with other forum members, I took the bull by the horn (well... sounds dramatic) and I missed breakfast for the very first time ... not eating until 1.45pm.
My blood glucose just prior to the meal was 4.6 ... NEVER seen a 4 before! and I have tested .. out of curiosity at the hour stage.
It is 5.6 !!! I had expected it to be far more after just 60 minutes since my first bite of food,.
I have never done this before so could do with a kind person explaining this low reading

Not unusual at all. Since I started missing breakfast food (I have a coffee with cream) I have seen many, many 4s before lunch. If I see above 5 I am unhappy! The only times this doesn't happen is if I spend the morning doing a lot of housework that makes my liver dump. Missing breakfast clearly suits your metabolism. Stick at it!

Reactions: Mal37 and dbr10

Mal37

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Social situations
Not unusual at all. Since I started missing breakfast food (I have a coffee with cream) I have seen many, many 4s before lunch. If I see above 5 I am unhappy! The only times this doesn't happen is if I spend the morning doing a lot of housework that makes my liver dump. Missing breakfast clearly suits your metabolism. Stick at it!