LCHF bad for cholesterol/heart disease?

melliemars

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi there everyone,

I've been looking into different diets for diabetes as I don't feel like LCHF is good for the body. It just doesn't equate to health, to me. I can't see how all that fat and salt can help the body overall and even though it might lower blood glucose and keep diabetes in check, in the long run, it's going to hurt the heart. Is this true? Am I missing something? I'm no doctor but I don't get it. Surely, salt and fat is bad! Red meats are shown to hurt us. All that bacon and cheese, it cannot be good.

I've been looking into the vegan diet but we cannot really eat much fruit or rice, pasta etc so basically is all we're reduced to is salad, the odd egg and maybe a little bit of oily fish to stay healthy? I've been looking into low carb vegan and to be fair, what a dismal food life but I guess if it has to be done...

I don't want to look after my diabetes at the expense of my heart, arteries and other organs.

Basically, my question is, how do we stay ultra healthy looking after the whole body as well as controlling diabetes very well? Does anyone have a weekly food and exercise chart for such a way to live?

I'm more than happy to be wrong, any info would be greatly appreciated!

chalup

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
I would recommend you watch the videos that @Indy51 has been posting by Professor Tim Noakes. They will answer your questions in plain English and give you a lot of insight into diabetes and diet. He is not selling anything or promoting anything. He goes into heart disease, cholesterol, diabetes, insulin resistance, dietary fat and carbohydrates. He also explains where those high carb low fat guidelines come from and it is an eye opener. Diabetes, uncontrolled, causes heart disease. This is well documented.

chalup

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other