Low carb diet helped my IBS - yeah!

Skinny43

I’m still relatively new with low carb and am still experimenting with different food’s effect. However it appears that my 20+ years of IBS had finally been controlled. At the moment I haven’t had an episode of diarrhoea at all since the start of low carb (~2 weeks ago). I’ve tried everything I can think of for IBS but nothing helped. But with low carb diet of course it was blood sugar I wanted to control but somehow IBS got a lot better without thinking about it! This a huge bonus for me as it has been troubling for almost all of my life!

Has anybody had experience or heard of blood sugar has anything to do with IBS? I’m hoping this is a real thing instead of my imagination or pure coincidence. I do remember watching a YouTube video about diabetes and it mentioned constipation or diarrhoea as one of the symptoms of diabetes but thought it would be advanced levels of diabetes. I’m prediabetic. My fasting sugar has always been around 6.0 for years. Only recently became 5.3 since the low carb diet. Please can someone tell me this makes sense?

BTW another thing I’m feeling is the warmth. I used to feel cold all the time and especially after eating fruits( apple) my tummy feels so cold they go to a spasm and I have a diarrhoea! But recently I’ve not felt cold at all which is unusual specially with the poor whether. I’m hoping there is a link there!

Thanks!

JoKalsbeek

Expert
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I can't get all scientific for you, but improved circulation might explain the warmth, and my IBS has been practically non-existant for the past 3 years, since starting low carbing. (Have had other intestinal issues, but NOT that one! Yay! :)) So you're not imagining it. ;)

Brunneria

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only