Medtronic 670G - Alarm Fatigue

DeputyDawg

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi everyone! First post here! T1 Diabetic here for 30 years.

I've been using the Medtronic 670G and sensor for 5-6 years. What started as a minor irritation with alarm fatigue has become a full-on problem for me; considering my HBA1C is close to perfect, its alarm rings relentlessly through the night. According to my Fitbit, for about a quarter of the week, I sleep around two hours a night, and even that is interrupted. Not only has it affected me mentally quite severely at this point, I was so exhausted driving to work the other day that I almost crashed my car. I've admittedly put off seeking help for a while. Still, while waiting for my endocrinology appointment, I wondered if anyone else who may have suffered from this has any pointers. I slept much better when I turned off the sensor. Still, I wonder if that will affect my medical insurance in any way for getting supplies or a new pump, as when I have to apply for things, I'm frequently asked if I wear a sensor or how many times a day I test.

Any help is appreciated! Thank you!

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Heya @DeputyDawg The alarms are a nightmare... I am on Tandem Slim and Dexcom so get alarms for high/low, when insulin levels are running low, when sensor is expiring, transmitter needs replacing, if I didn't complete a bolus etc etc, and I get them on both the pump and on my phone, I have to admit night time isn't a problem as my pump keeps me in range during the night, but I urge you to call Medtronic and try and work out a solution - I have turned my phone on silent during the night and have my BG ranges set outside the normal parameters to give myself a big buffer against the alarms, but despite this wonderful technology they can be energy zapping, your not alone.

DeputyDawg

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type