New T2

Ice-Man

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi All.

Hi my name is Ian I was told by the doc when I went for my yearly MOT, the reason for the MOT is I had a Heart Attack in 2014 a week before my 51st birthday.
But since that time I have been on beta-blockers and ace inhibitors to slow my heart rate, it no longer goes above 80 BPM stopped smoking that week and sadly put weight on I went from 13 stone to now 17.5 stone.

I have lost 2lbs since the last MOT so I have stopped the weight, as I no longer have any sugar at all but last year was told I was pre-diabetic and had to have 3 blood test.
This year it has gone up and been put on metformin 500mg twice a day, I got a free meter today in the post I don't know how they knew I had been diagnosed with type 2.

The meter is a Contour next one so I just tried it and it comes back with 6.5 should I worry, as I'm new to all this plus I drive a class 2 Tipper on the roads doing asphalt. So I am very active during the day and I never knew I had any symptoms, as my legs swell to twice the size and have to wear compression tights.

I always feel tired due to my meds for the HA and a slow heart, rate and being a truck driver I have always got a cuppa tea by my side....

But looking forward to getting to know people here as I can see this is going to be a long haul.

Regards.

Ian

JoKalsbeek

Expert
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi All.

Hi my name is Ian I was told by the doc when I went for my yearly MOT, the reason for the MOT is I had a Heart Attack in 2014 a week before my 51st birthday.
But since that time I have been on beta-blockers and ace inhibitors to slow my heart rate, it no longer goes above 80 BPM stopped smoking that week and sadly put weight on I went from 13 stone to now 17.5 stone.